Villa | House Museum | Historic Residence
Musei di Pellizza – Volpedo
includedPellizza's Studio was built by the artist starting in 1888, and completed in 1896 with a zenithal skylight. In 1966, his daughters Maria and Nerina donated it to the Municipality of Volpedo to become a museum, and it has been open to the public continuously since 1994. In the studio, perfectly preserved with its 19th-century characteristics, there are work tools, everyday objects, books, the epistolary, photographs and some significant works by the Volpedo painter, including a portrait of his father and mother, a self-portrait in oil from his youth and another from his maturity in charcoal on canvas. In the Palazzo del Torraglio, in Piazza Quarto Stato, the Educational Museum offers a journey through images on Pellizza, examining his artistic evolution in the transition from realism to symbolism, focusing on cycles inspired by the themes of love and nature. Knowledge of Pellizza's main masterpiece is deepened through a multimedia installation that "narrates" the Fourth Estate through words taken from the painter's writings.
Since 2000, an Itinerary on Pellizzi's places has been created in Volpedo: large-format reproductions of the painter's works are placed in the streets of the town, in direct comparison with the views of the landscape that inspired them. Expanded several times, the route now includes 18 stations. Other hiking routes can be found in the surrounding hills, and are circular routes. The 'Sentiero della Montà di Bogino' (year 2011, trail marker no. 150) runs for 5 km; the 'Sentiero del sole' (year 2013, trail marker no. 152) is a trail of about 8.7 km; two further trails created by the Association between 2015 and 2016 are trail marker no. 153 'Anello del monte Brienzone' and trail marker no. 154 'Anello tra Monleale e Montemarzino', both about 10 km long.








